News Release
August 14, 2000




The Monroe Council of the Arts has selected the recipients for two of its most popular grant programs: "Artists in Schools" and "ArtReach." In all, 16 winners will share a total of $6,275.

Four artists and teachers were selected for the Monroe Council of the Arts "Artists in Schools" program. The "Artists in Schools" program encourages teachers and artists of all disciplines to design creative projects together to enhance the existing curriculum for students in grades K-12.

The following winning projects will take place during the first half of the 2000/01 school year:

Artist Lois Giffen and teacher Jan Dorl will present "Clay Pinch Pots" to students at Stanley Switlik Elementary School in Marathon.

Artist Stacie Krupa and teacher Ron Sanderson will continue "New Mediums: Expressive Freedom in Acrylics" which they began last term at Coral Shores High School in Tavernier.

Artist Donna Coffin and teacher Jill Turcotte will teach students at Sugarloaf Elementary/Middle School "The Big Picture: Designing/Executing Scenery for Stage Productions."

Artist Lori Oertel-Neilson and teacher Liz Smith will present "Scenes and Monologues" at Horace O’Bryant Junior High School in Key West.

The "ArtReach" grant program has been designed to help artists and arts organizations develop new audiences. To further community involvement in the arts, a partner organization is required. Recipients of "ArtReach" grants are:

Erik Hutchins and partner, Artificial Reef of the Keys, for Ship of the Centuries.

Art Behind Bars and partner, Monroe County Detention Center, for the 6th Art Behind Bars Birthday Party show.

Key West Players and partner, City of Key West, for Bahama Village Theatre Lab.

David Laughlin and partner, the Cuban American Heritage Festival, for Key West on Fire.

Cuban American Heritage Festival and partner, First State Bank, for Fiesta de Ninos.

Judi Bradford and partner, Audubon House, for Light & Shade in the Garden.

Gary Zimmerman and partner, Historic Tours of America, for Tunes from the Schooner Western Union.

Artists in Paradise Gallery and partner, Independent Mortgage & Finance Co., for New Neighbor Outreach Program.

Kimberly Narenkivicius and partner, Key West Film Society, for Fisherman-Pescadores de Cuba.

Theatre Department of Florida Keys Community College and partner, Monroe County Schools, for Random Acts of Shakespeare.

Florida Keys Art Guild and partner, Pigeon Key Foundation, for Florida Keys Art Guild at Pigeon Key.

Florida Keys Education Foundation and partner, Educational Coalition for Monroe County, for Summer Teen Theatre Program.

The Monroe Council of the Arts funds both "Artists in Schools" and "ArtReach," in part through the Florida Arts License Tag Program. Funds from the sale of these special license tags stay in Monroe County and are used by the Arts Council for various arts education grants.

Applications for the next "Artists in Schools" grant award must be received by November 30, 2000; for "ArtReach," the deadline is December 29, 2000. The applications are available by sending a SASE to Monroe Council of the Arts, P. O. Box 717, Key West, 33041, or online at the Arts Council’s web site,

For more information, call the Arts Council at 294-4406; 743-0079, Ext. 4369;or 852-1469, Ext. 4369.