News Release
October 12, 2000




Thirty-six Keys artists - more than ever before - are seeking the prestigious $15,000 South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship.

Each year the South Florida Cultural Consortium (SFCC), comprising Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, Martin and Monroe counties, offers several $15,000 awards to visual and media artists in the five-county area.  Thanks to the generosity of a private donor, a fund has been established to guarantee an artist from the Keys will receive one of the fellowships.  Other counties also have designated awards, and one at-large award will be made.

Deadline for application was October 2.  Slides will be reviewed by a regional jury in October and finalists selected.  The work of the finalists will be considered by a national jury in November.  Awards will be made in the spring of 2001.  An exhibit featuring the recipients' works will take place at the Palm Beach Institute of Contemporary Art.

Keys artists who have received this award in the past include Roberta Marks, John Martini, Carol Munder, Kim Northrup, D. Scott Wallace, and most recently, Debra Yates.

For more information, call the Monroe Council of the Arts at 294-4406; 743-0079, Ext. 4369; or 852-1469, Ext. 4369.