The Florida Keys Council of the Arts has
elected seven community leaders to its boards:


New chair Diane E. Gauthier (see photograph), on the Arts Council board of directors for four years, has been senior account executive with the Key West Citizen and Free Presses since 1994.  She is a lifelong advocate for the arts.  Ms. Gauthier is president of the Coppitt-Johnsonville Community Association and sits on the board of the Florida Keys Cancer Foundation.  She is a member of the Key West Womanís Club and the Key West Attractions Association.  Previously she was program manager and director on the Michigan Small Business Development Center , and she directed the Muskegon Community College Business Development Center.  Ms. Gauthier lives on Big Coppitt Key.

New vice chair Bill Shaw has been a resident of Marathon for over twelve years.  He is vice chair and former secretary/treasurer of the Monroe County Mosquito Control Board.  Mr. Shaw has served the aviation industry both as president of the Aviation Personnel Association and as a pilot (he flew Mosquito Controlís DC-3 aircraft beginning in 1988).  Mr. Shaw completed his formal education in Missouri , where he studied chemistry and business.  He has been a strong supporter of the arts and of arts education in Monroe County .

Host of Countyline, a biweekly county issues television talk show on AT&T Channel 19, new secretary June Girard has served as executive director of the Lower Keys Chamber of Commerce, columnist for the Key West Observer and the Island Navigator, and president of the Monroe County League of Women Voters, the Tennessee Williams Fine Arts Center Founders Society, and the Red Barn Theatre Band of Angels.  She chairs the Lower Florida Keys Hospital district board and sits on the board of Lower Keys Medical Center .  She coordinates the Arts Councilís Art in the Hospital program at LKMC.  Ms. Girard lives on Sugarloaf Key.

Treasurer David Zirilli, a Key Largo resident since 1996, holds bachelorís and masterís degrees in accounting.  After achieving his CPA at age twenty-three, he entered public practice in auditing as well as corporate and individual taxation.  He gained experience as a senior auditor and has taught as an adjunct professor of accounting.  Since opening a Key Largo branch of the family CPA firm, he has served as treasurer of Citizens for Island Government, Key Largo Community Council, and the regional American Youth Soccer Organization.  Mr. Zirilli is a Rotarian and sits on the board of Keys Academy of Marine Science.  He is an alumnus of Leadership Monroe County .

A Key West resident since 1998, new board member and former advisory board member Anne Sunkel was recently appointed by Commissioner Charles ďSonnyĒ McCoy to the Monroe County Art in Public Places Committee.  She coordinates the Arts Councilís public-art program at Key West International Airport and the annual Mayorís Cocktail Reception arts fundraiser.  In summer 2001 Ms. Sunkel was named a SweetArt of the Contemporary Art Center in her native city of New Orleans , where for many years she was active in major arts organizations.

New board member and former advisory board member Roger Westerlund moved to Key West from New York City in 1997.  He serves on the advisory boards of the Key West Symphony Orchestra, Impromptu Concerts, and the Red Barn Theatre.  He is an active volunteer with these organizations as well as with the Tennessee Williams Fine Arts Center Founders Society and the Key West Film Society, and he is a member of the Theater Network.  Mr. Westerlund is the Arts Councilís cultural liaison.

Newly elected to the Arts Councilís advisory board, born Key Wester Marcia Somersall is active in the Keys Chorale, the Key West Womanís Club, the Tour Business Ordinance Study Committee, and St. Maryís Soup Kitchen.  She sits on the board of the Bahama Village Business Association.  Ms. Somersall earned her business degree at the City University of New York and attended Howard University.