For immediate release, July 29, 2002

Contact Hal Howland, 305-295-4369

Arts council hosts membership party, presents fellowship workshop

The Florida Keys Council of the Arts will host a membership party honoring artists and winners of the annual South Florida Cultural Consortium Visual and Media Artists Fellowship. Arts council members are invited, and $15, $25, and $100 memberships will be available at the door. The event will take place Friday, August 16, 5:30-7:30 p.m., at Little Switzerland, 402 Duval St., Key West.

Earlier the same day, at 1 p.m., the arts council will present Rem Cabrera, chief of cultural development for the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs, discussing how to apply for the SFCC fellowship. The free workshop will take place in the lower conference room at the Gato building, 1100 Simonton St., Key West.

Each year the SFCC, a partnership of the arts councils of Broward, Dade, Martin, Monroe, and Palm Beach counties, has offered the award to artists from each of the five counties. Previous Monroe County winners of fellowships include John Martini, Carol Munder, Kimberly Narenkivicius, Kim Northrop, D. Scott Wallace, Debra Yates, and Jenny Zeller.

Beginning this year, fellowships in the amounts of $15,000 and $7,500 will be awarded. Fellowships of $7,500 will be limited to no more than two per county.

The application deadline is October 1, and awards will be made in spring 2003. Guidelines are available on the arts council website, on the home page click Links & grant information, then scroll down and click South Florida Cultural Consortium Visual & Media Artists Fellowship.

Reservations for the two August 16 events, the afternoon workshop and the evening party, are requested but not required.

For more information, call Monica Haskell at 305-295-4369; e-mail; or visit