For immediate release, June 16, 2002

Contact Hal Howland, 305-295-4369


Arts council presents fellowship workshop


A $15,000 or $7,500 fellowship awaits a Florida Keys visual or media artist.

The Florida Keys Council of the Arts presents Rem Cabrera, chief of cultural development for the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs, discussing the annual $15,000 Visual and Media Artists Fellowship awarded by the South Florida Cultural Consortium (SFCC). The free workshop will take place Friday, August 16, at 1 p.m., in the lower conference room at the Gato building, 1100 Simonton St., Key West.

Each year the SFCC, a partnership of the arts councils of Broward, Dade, Martin, Monroe, and Palm Beach counties, offers the $15,000 award to one artist from each of the five counties. Previous Monroe County winners include John Martini, Carol Munder, Kimberly Narenkivicius, Kim Northrop, D. Scott Wallace, Debra Yates, and Jenny Zeller.

The application deadline is October 1, and awards will be made in spring 2003. Guidelines are available on the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs website,

Reservations for the August 16 workshop are requested but not required.

For more information, call Monica Haskell at 305-295-4369; e-mail; or visit