January 4, 2005

Contact: Rem Cabrera,, (305) 375-5019

or Monica Haskell, 305-295-4369





The Florida Keys Council of the Arts announces local artist Darlene Pruess as the 2005 winner of the South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship for Visual and Media Artists.

Pruess secures a prize of $15,000 in the fellowship program; joining 8 other artists from South Florida so honored in this year's SFCC competition. The $15,000 fellowships are the largest such awards provided by local arts agencies in the United States.

A twelve year resident of Key West, Pruess draws, paints, sculpts, builds museum displays, and does commission work as a photographer, including still photography for independent films and aerial photography.

Fine art photography is her passion now, and the medium in which she is recognized as a fellowship winner.

Pruess has exhibited in solo and group shows in Key West including Custom House Museum, Lucky Street Gallery, Salt Photo Gallery, FKCC, and Woodenhead Gallery. She is also currently exhibiting at Filtro Foto Gallery in the Wynwood Art District of Miami.

The South Florida Cultural Consortium, an alliance of the arts councils of Palm Beach, Broward, Miami-Dade, Monroe and Martin Counties, will award the $15,000 fellowships to four visual artists from Miami-Dade County, three from Broward County, one from Palm Beach County and one from Monroe County

The recipients are: Charo Oquet, Miami-Dade County; Lisandro Perez-Rey, Miami-Dade County; Karen Rifas, Miami-Dade County; Matthew Schreiber, Miami-Dade County; Richard LaBarbera, Broward County; Thomas Nolan, Broward County; Geoffrey Thomas, Broward County; Miroslav Antic, Palm Beach County; and Darlene Pruess, Monroe County.